Book Review: THE SILENT PATIENT, if you like psychological thrillers, read this book!

Michaelides, Alex - The Silent PatientThe Silent Patient
Alex Michaelides

Painter Alicia Berenson was found in her living room, wrists cut, rifle on the floor, with her husband, Max, tied to a chair, dead from a rifle shot. From the moment she was taken into custody, she refused to speak, and she was sent to the psychiatric facility the Grove, which, incidentally, was in danger of closing because the innovative methods advocated by medical director Dr. Lazarus Diomedes were far from cost effective.

The only thing resembling a statement Alicia made was a self-portrait entitled Alcestis. In the Greek myth Alcestis, Admetus is condemned to death unless he can find a volunteer to take his place. His parents refuse, but his wife Alcestis is willing. She departs for Hades, but Heracles intervenes and returns her to life. While Admetus is overjoyed, Alcestis responds with silence, leaving Admetus to ask why his wife doesn’t speak.

Forensic psychotherapist Theo Faber had been interested in Alicia’s case since her story was first covered in the papers. Having an abusive childhood himself, he believed that he alone could reach and heal Alicia, so when a position opened at the Grove six years after Max’s murder, he applied, even though it might not be the most advantageous move for his career.

Since therapy with a silent patient presents challenges, Theo ignores professional standards and seeks out Alicia’s friends and families for insight into her thoughts and behavior before Max’s murder. Perhaps something could explain her drastic action–or even exonerate her. At the same time, excerpts from Alicia’s journal reveal that Theo’s sources may have their own secrets to keep.

The Silent Patient is a gripping and solid thriller that I read in one gulp. I don’t want to say anything else about it except that if you like this genre, you will want to read it as soon as possible!

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s