I was very upset with the Supreme Court ruling regarding Hobby Lobby’s appeal for exemption from covering birth control as mandated by the Affordable Care Act. One, corporations are not people (I don’t care what the SCOTUS claim). Two, it blurs the line between church and state.

Besides a few online petitions that I signed, I didn’t see any other calls to action until today. Then, in the Ravelry pattern feed, there was this….

KnitABrick - Hobby Lobby Protest

I wish I could actually go to the Supreme Court for this event. In my stead, I am going to send a brick or two!

If you knit or crochet, you can make a block. For those interested who can’t knit or crochet, the Secular Coalition for America will make a brick for you with a small donation.

4 thoughts on “Knit a Brick!

  1. Can’t find info on how to “knit a brick.” Is it just a knitted or crocheted 6″ x 3″ flat piece that will be joined with others? Or is it knitted over something?

    1. Yes, any 6 x 3 knitted or crocheted rectangle will work – they are joining them once they receive them. If you are on Ravelry, you can look me up (aimeedars) and see my blocks there!

Leave a Reply

