food, Personal

That Explains a Lot

In addition to being vegan (no meat, dairy, eggs, or any other animal products including gelatin, whey, honey), I am a very picky eater. I loathe beyond words onion, I despise eggplant (though I admire its purple skin), and I detest cauliflower. Most fruits due to their texture make me sick to my stomach. I don’t even like hot drinks like tea and coffee. Being so picky is very inconvenient – and sometimes awkward.

However, I gained some insight into my very narrow food parameters from something my mother recently said. Apparently, when shopping for baby food, she would look at the different varieties – with probably not all that many from which to choose in the early 1970s – but she would always and almost exclusively purchase turkey. Yes, turkey. : P I believe she said that she couldn’t imagine anyone liking and wanting to eat the other varieties.

No wonder my palate didn’t ever develop!

One thought on “That Explains a Lot

  1. are you getting enough nutrients in your diet? It's me, melanie the mitten teacher… Check out this product: http://www.crossroad.vemma.com It's our business and it's the most complete nutritional supplement on the market today, and… totally organic, vegan… right down to the packaging being safe for the environment

Leave a Reply

